International symposium to explore the intersection of neuroscience, art and related therapeutics

INDIANAPOLIS — A range of global and local experts will present their insights on how brain science and artistic processes inform one another during a one-and-half day symposium, "21st Century Great Conversations in Neuroscience, Art and Related Therapeutics."

This symposium, organized by Juliet King, MA, ATR-BC, LPC, LMHC, of the Herron School of Art and Design and Indiana University School of Medicine, will feature presentations by three international experts and three panel discussions with a mix of Indianapolis-based and global leaders in the fields of neuroscience, art and related therapeutics.

Aimed at supporting the overall health and amelioration of disease for patients, their caregivers, families and friends, the symposium highlights the collaborative approach of the IUPUI schools of Art and Design, Medicine, Engineering, Informatics, Health and Rehabilitation Services, Nursing, and Liberal Arts.

“The field of neuroeasthetics is still very new and underscores why medicine needs art and art needs medicine and the life sciences,” said King. “A strength of IUPUI as a research institution is our work in the health and life sciences; it is with active minds and a collective spirit that seven schools from the IUPUI campus present this symposium featuring global thought leaders where these disciplines intersect.”

The symposium will also feature the debut of exhibitions by Herron faculty members, Stefan Petranek and Greg Hull.

Media Contact

Whitney Yoerger
External Affairs & Content Specialist

What: "21st Century Great Conversations in Neuroscience, Art and Related Therapeutics" symposium and panel discussions

When: Saturday, April 8 (8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.) and Sunday, April 9 (9:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.)

Where: IUPUI, Hine Hall Auditorium, 875 W. North Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202

Who: Keynote Speakers: Anjan Chaterjee, MD; Arne Dietrich, PhD; Klaus Gramann, PhD. Keynote bios and list of additional speakers detailed below.


Registration fees will be waived for AATA and INDIATA members; Herron School of Art and Design faculty, staff and students; and IU School of Medicine faculty, staff and students. All other IUPUI faculty, staff, students and alumni will receive 50% reduced admission.

Keynote Speakers

Anjan Chaterjee, MD is the Elliot Professor and Chief of Neurology at Pennsylvania Hospital. In 2002 he was awarded the Norman Geschwind Prize in Behavioral and Cognitive Neurology by the American Academy of Neurology. His current research focuses on spatial cognition, language, neuroethics, and neuroaesthetics.

Arne Dietrich, PhD is a cognitive neuroscientist and Professor of Psychology at the American University of Beirut, in Lebanon. Professor Dietrich’s research focuses on the neuroscience of creativity, altered states of consciousness, and the psychological effects of exercise.

Klaus Gramann, PhD is the Head of the Department of Biological Psychology and Neuropsychology Ergonomics at the Berlin Institute of Technology in Berlin, Germany. With a doctorate in Psychology, Dr. Gramann has a concerted interest in the neuroscience of embodied and spatial cognition. His particular specialty is in Mobile Brain/Body Imaging.

Additional Speakers

Robert Pascuzzi, MD; Emily Beckman, MA, DMH; Juliet King, MA, ATR-BC, LPC; Myra Saad, MA, ATR; Jeff Rothenberg, MD, MS; Janice Buelow, RN, PhD, FAAN; Heidi Fledderjohn, MA, BC-DMT, E-RYT; Arthur Liou, MFA; Michael Kaufmann, MLIS; Petr Bob, PhD; Debra Burns, PhD, MT-BC; Travis Faad, MS; Lukasz Konopka, PhD.


The Indiana University School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The Indiana University School of Medicine designates this live activity for a maximum of 7.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

This activity qualifies for 7.5 Category I Continuing Education Units for Social Workers, Clinical Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists, Marriage and Family Therapy Associates, Mental Health Counselors, Mental Health Counselor Associates, Addiction Counselors, and Clinical Addiction Counselors as outlined by the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board.