Alumni Awards

Honoring the Herron community

The Herron Alumni Association presents three annual awards to honor and recognize individuals whose service, dedication, and achievements have exceptionally contributed to the school.

Andrew Blauvelt (B.F.A. Visual Communication '86), 2019

James Sholly (B.F.A. Visual Communication '87), 2018

Rachel Meyer Simon (B.F.A. Painting '08), 2016

Terence Main (B.F.A. Visual Communication '76), 2015

Steve Mueller (B.F.A. '76), 2014

Lois Main Templeton (B.F.A. Painting '81), 2013

Garo Antreasian ('48 in Fine Arts), 2012

Mike Garber (B.F.A. Visual Communication '97), 2011

David Bowen (B.F.A. Sculpture '99), 2010

Leah Traugott ('46 in Painting), 2009

Lois Davis ('47 in Painting), 2008


All part-time, adjunct, and full-time faculty are eligible to receive the Harry A. Davis Faculty Award. Candidates are eligible for nomination in successive years.

Nomination criteria

The Harry A. Davis Faculty Award is intended for individuals who are recognized by students as having made truly extraordinary contributions to their educational experience. The emphasis in selection of award recipients is on out-of-class mentoring as well as in-class teaching at Herron. Nominations should speak to the candidate's unique service to students.

Nomination process

Part-time and full-time students currently enrolled in Herron may serve as a nominator. Be sure to include a nomination letter (copy/paste the content into the online form) summarizing why the candidate being nominated has made such a distinctive contribution. Examples should show involvement with students beyond the normal and expected requirements of a candidate's faculty position.

Selection committee

The committee is comprised of members of the Herron Alumni Association's Board of Directors.

Award presentation

The award recipient is honored at a special event and his or her name is placed on permanent display on a plaque in Eskenazi Hall.

Kathleen O'Connell, 2019

Marc Jacobson, 2018

Eric Norgulen, 2017

Paula Differding, 2016

Meredith Setser, 2015

Benjamin Martinkus, 2014

Patrick Kinsman, 2013

Cindy Borgman, 2012

Greg Hull, 2011

Linda Adele Goodine, 2010

Brian Myers, 2009

Richard Nickolson, 2008

Linda Adele Goodine, 2007

Harry A. Davis earned his B.F.A. from Herron in 1938, the same year he won the Prix de Rome in painting. In 1941, he was named Artist-in-residence at Beloit College, Wisconsin. After enlisting in the Army in 1942, Davis designed camouflage in North Africa and, in 1944, became a combat artist with the Fifth Army Historical unit in Italy. The drawings and paintings completed during this time are property of the War Department at the Pentagon.

Davis's studio was located in Brownsburg, Indiana, until 1960. At that time, he began an ongoing series of paintings of landmarks that interested him and has since completed over 500 of these paintings.

For 37 years, he taught drawing and painting at Herron and was proclaimed Professor Emeritus. In 1971, the school recognized his 25th year of teaching with a stipend from the Milliken Fund for research in England.

For the Indiana Sesquicentennial in 1972, Davis presented an exhibition, "My City," in the Galleries at Herron. A sabbatical in 1975 enabled him to paint in Southern Indiana for his exhibition "A Segment of the Historic Ohio River Valley" as part of the U.S. Bicentennial celebration in 1976.

For a traveling show in 1983, "Here and There; The Italian Influence," Davis compared buildings of Indiana to those of Italy. Because of his fascination with Hoosier architecture, he received the Sandi Servaas Memorial Award from Historic Landmarks of Indiana.

Harry Davis, a lifetime member of the Herron Alumni Association, passed away in February 2006 at the age of 91.

Devin Johannis (B.F.A. Furniture Design '19), 2019

Melissa Cardenas (B.F.A. Visual Communication Design '18), 2018

Olivia MacIsaac (B.A. Art History '17), 2017

Mary McClung (B.F.A. Photography '16), 2016

Lynnette Sauer (B.F.A. Painting '16), 2015

Sarah Herbert (B.F.A. Visual Communication Design '14), 2014

Bethany Knuckles (B.F.A. Painting '13), 2013

Anthony Reynolds (B.A.E. Art Education '12), 2012

Jessica Bowman (B.F.A. Photography '11), 2011

Christine Plantenga (B.F.A. Painting '10), 2010

Nina Danette Alles (B.F.A. Ceramics '09), 2009

Lisa Kleindorfer (B.F.A. Ceramics '08), 2008

Jennifer Baltz (B.F.A. Visual Communication '07), 2007