Seven of 12 New Creative Renewal Fellows in Visual Arts are Herron Affiliated

$10,000 Grants

The Arts Council of Indianapolis has announced its 2015–2016 round of Creative Renewal Arts Fellows, welcoming 30 new recipients. In the visual arts category, the awards tacitly reinforced Herron School of Art and Design’s importance to the vibrancy of Indianapolis, as seven of 12 (or 58 percent of the) recipients were either Herron alumni or faculty.

The Herron visual arts recipients are: Shawn Causey, BFA ’02; Robert Horvath, associate professor of painting; Corey Jefferson, senior lecturer, ceramics; Brose Partington, BFA ’04; Brian James Priest, BFA ’05; Beatriz Vasquez, BFA ’06; and Lauren Zoll, adjunct faculty.

Susan D. Brewer; Meredith Knapp Brickell; Lobyn Hamilton; C. Thomas Lewis and Gary Schmitt (an IU alumnus, MS Media Arts and Sciences ’05), rounded out the new group of visual arts fellows, joined by recipients in arts administration (8), dance (2), literary arts (3), music arts (4) and theater arts (1).

Fellows are awarded a $10,000 grant that they may use toward activities they believe will refresh their creativity and recharge their work. The program launched in 1999. Since its inception, the Arts Council has awarded more than $3 million in grants to 370 fellows. Grants are awarded on a biennial basis and funded by Lilly Endowment Inc.

The announcement took place at a reception April 17 at the Indianapolis Art Center with the opening of Unbound, an exhibition of work by the 2013-2014 round of fellows—which also included a large Herron contingent—that will be on display until June 7. For more information, visit the Arts Council.